International Academy of Comparative Law


In October 2022, at the 21th General Congress in Asunción, Giuditta Cordero-Mossi was elected President of the International Academy of Comparative Law.

The members of the Executive Committee, including the Secretary-General, are elected for a period of four years and are eligible for re-election. (Statutes, art. X)

Some faculties of the President

● The Academy is represented, administered, and managed by an Executive Committee made up of a President, three to six Vice-Presidents, a Treasurer, and a Secretary-General. (Statutes, art. X)

● The President of the Academy presides over the meetings of the Academy and decides upon questions of procedure. (Statutes, art. XII)


The full biography of the new President will be added in due course.

Former Presidents

Katharina BOELE-WOELKI 2014-2022

Professor at Bucerius Law School, Hamburg

George A. BERMANN 2006-2014

Professor at Columbia University School of Law, New York

Konstantinos KERAMEUS 1998-2006

Professor at the University of Athens; Director of the Hellenic Institute of international and foreign law

Paul-André CRÉPEAU 1990-1998

Emeritus Professor at the University McGill, Montreal

John HAZARD 1982-1990

Nash Emeritus Professor of Law, Columbia University

Imre SZABO 1978-1982

Director of the Institut of State and of Law, Budapest

C.J. HAMSON 1966-1978

Professor at the University of Cambridge

Baron Louis FREDERICQ 1962-1966

Professor at the Universities of Gand and Brussels

Louis MILLIOT 1958-1962 (decease)

Professor at the University of Paris

(Interim president: J. HAMEL, deceased in 1962)

Jean ESCARRA 1955-1958

Professor at the Paris University

Roscoe POUND 1950-1955

Professor at the Harvard University

Antonio SÁNCHEZ de BUSTAMANTE 1927-1950

Professor at the Havane University; Judge of the International Court of Justice

André WEISS 1924-1927

Professor at the Paris University